Luxembourg photo gallery - pictures, facts and information on Luxembourg

Luxembourg Categories


Luxembourg on the Map

GPS N49.853923°,E6.146851°
Luxembourg is a country in Western Europe. It is the smallest of the Benelux countries. Its official name is the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and it is the only sovereign Grand Duchy in the world. It is a landlocked country that borders with Belgium, France and Germany. The capital city is Luxembourg that is, at the same time, also the largest city and the seat of several European Union institutions and agencies. Other big cities are Esch-sur-Alzette, Dudelange, and Differdange.

Luxembourg is a parliamentary representative democracy with a constitutional monarchy, ruled by a Grand Duke. This function is inherited by male-preference primogeniture. Executive power is represented by the Grand Duke and the cabinet (consisting of the Prime Minister and several other ministers). The independence of Luxembourg was declared in 1815 when the Congress of Vienna formed Luxembourg as a Grand Duchy in personal union with the Netherlands. Luxembourg gained back its independence after the Belgian Revolution in 1839 by the First Treaty of London. In the same year, Luxembourg joined the Zollverein. Luxembourg's independence and neutrality were again affirmed by the 1867 Second Treaty of London.

Luxembourg is divided into three districts, which are further divided into twelve cantons and then 116 communes. Twelve of the communes have city status, the city of Luxembourg is the largest. Official languages are French, German and Luxembourgish. French is the language of official written communication, whereas German is the first language taught at school as well as the language of mass media and church and Luxembourgish is the spoken language (this division is not strict).

The area of Luxembourg is approximately 2,585 square kilometers (998 square miles); it measures just 82 kilometres (51 miles) in length and the width is 57 kilometres (35 miles). The northern third of the country, known as Oesling is part of Ardennes and therefore it is hilly, with low mountains. The highest point is Kneiff, 560 metres (1,837 feet) above sea level. Southern two-thirds are called Gutland. It is more diverse, with five geographical sub-regions. It is also more densely populated. Luxembourg has a marine west coast climate.

The population of Luxembourg is less than half a million. The original inhabitants are ethnically a mixture of French and German. It is favourite country of emigrants, annually over 10,000 of them comes to Luxembourg. Although a secular state, Luxembourg is predominantly Roman Catholic.

The country has a highly developed economy, with the highest Gross Domestic Product per capita in the world. Luxembourg is a founding member of the European Union, NATO, the United Nations, Benelux, and the Western European Union, reflecting the political consensus in favour of economic, political, and military integration.
Search site