Hungary photo gallery - pictures, facts and information on Hungary

Hungary Categories


Hungary on the Map

GPS N47.182246°,E19.368896°
Hungary is a country located in the East-Central Europe. Its official name is the Hungarian Republic (Magyar Koztarsasag). It has common borders with Austria, Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia and Slovenia. The capital city is Budapest; to other big cities belong Debrecen and Miskolc.

The area of Hungary is 93,030 square kilomertes. The highest point of the country is Kekes (1,014 metres above sea level) and the lowest point is Tisza (78 metres above sea level). The longest river is Danube. Climate is continental with Mediterranean and Atlantic influences.

As far as number of inhabitants is concerned, there are 10,300,000 people living in Hungary, with density 109 inhabitants per square kilometre. 60 % lives in towns. The majority (90%) is the Hungarians; other nationalities are the Romanies, the Germans, the Jewish and the Slovaks. Most of them are of Roman Catholic religion. To other religions belong Protestant and Jewish. People speak Hungarian language.

The history of Hungary began to be written in 896 when Hungarian tribes under the leadership of Arpád settled in the Carpathian Basin. The next important date was the year 1000 when was the King Stephen converted to Christianity. Gradually, under the rule of the dynasty of the Árpáds and even before it (since the ninth century), Hungary joined the greater West European civilizations. After the lost battle with Ottoman Empire in 1526 (Battle of Mohacs) Hungary was divided into three parts. 150 years later Austria regained two of them and Hungary became the part of Austro-Hungarian Empire. In 1867, Hungary managed to become a theoretically equal half of the Empire. At the end of WWI Austro-Hungarian Empire collapsed and on November 16, 1918, an independent Hungarian Republic was proclaimed. In 1920, the Treaty of Trianon reduced Hungary's area by two thirds and the population by one third. Since then, considerable Hungarian minorities lived in the neighbouring countries. In 1930s Hungary allied with Nazi Germany and gained back some of its territories, but during the WWII the situation changed and the Nazis occupied Hungary, as they did not consider it a reliable ally. After the war, the Soviet Army liberated, and then occupied the country.

From the administrative point of view is Hungary divided into 19 counties. Although Hungary is the member of European Union, the currency is still Forint. The country is also a member of other international configurations, to mention some: NATO, UNO, OECD or CEFTA.

Economically, Hungary continues to demonstrate economic growth. It gets nearly one third of all foreign direct investment flowing in to Central Europe. 65 % of people work in services, 27 % in industry and 8 % in agriculture.

The international code of Hungary is HUN, the label of motor vehicles is H, internet domain is .hu and phone code number is +36.
Search site